Philanthropy West Virginia Elects Five Board Members For 2023

Philanthropy West Virginia welcomes new and returning board members

Philanthropy West Virginia has elected three new members and two returning members to serve on our Board of Directors for the term years 2023-2026.

“We welcome our new board members, who bring a variety of experiences and expertise to the board,” said incoming Board Chair Marian Clowes. “We have an exciting year ahead, as we work with new leadership to enhance the value that Philanthropy WV brings to its members. All of our board members – new and returning – look forward to serving our members in the new year.”

The three new board members are Brock Malcolm, 1st Vice President, Board of Directors, United Way of Harrison & Doddridge Counties; David Moran, Board President, Tucker Community Foundation; and Jess Puglisi-Sanders, Program Officer, Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley.

The two returning board members are Dr. Michelle Foster, President & CEO, The Greater Kanawha Valley Foundation; and Elizabeth Pellegrin, Board Member, Charles & Mary Fayne Glotfelty Foundation, who currently serves as Board Secretary, but will take on the role of Vice-Chair in 2023.

Dr. Michelle Foster – President & CEO, The Greater Kanawha Valley Foundation
Dr. Foster also serves as a co-chair of the Steering Committee of the Appalachia Funders Network and founding member of African American Philanthropy in Action (a giving circle). Before joining TGKVF in 2016, Michelle was the CEO of the Kanawha Institute for Social Research & Action, Inc., a nonprofit organization that strengthens families through health, employment, asset development, and learning initiatives.

Elizabeth Pellegrin – Board Member, Charles & Mary Fayne Glotfelty Foundation
Elizabeth is an experienced practitioner of advertising, marketing, research, public relations and governmental affairs in the United States and abroad. She is currently the Chief Marketing Officer of both Charleston Area Medical Center (CAMC), and the newly created statewide health system, Vandalia Health. Philanthropy and volunteerism have long been a passion, and she currently serves on the Charles & Mary Fayne Glotfelty Foundation Board.

Brock Malcolm – 1st Vice President, Board of Directors, United Way of Harrison & Doddridge Counties
Brock is a 1999 graduate of the WVU College of Law. For more than a decade, he served as Chief Operations Officer and In-House Legal Counsel for one of the state’s prominent Federally Qualified Health Centers. In 2018 he joined Bowles Rice, where he heads up the firm’s health care practice group. He also serves on boards of West Virginia Rural Health Association, Healthy Harrison, Clarksburg Lions Club, and the Center for Rural Health Development.

David Moran – Board President, Tucker Community Foundation
David is totally committed to WV improvement through philanthropy, currently serving 7 Counties in Northeast WV and Garrett County MD. He completed his graduate education at MIT & Harvard, and is currently an Adjunct Professor at WVU. He has served on the boards of the Community Trust Foundation, Garrett College Foundation, Mountain Lions Club, WV Public Broadcasting, Mountain Pride Cooperative, MD/WV Rural Development Coalition, Preston County Farm Bureau, WVU Extension Service Council, and Southern States Cooperative.

Jess Puglisi-Sanders – Program Officer, Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley
Jess joined the CFOV team in 2016 after many years of service in the nonprofit and higher education sectors. Her affinity for the scholarship space fostered the creation of the Scholarship Managers Roundtable through Philanthropy WV. In addition to the roundtable, Jess is also involved in PWV’s Education Affinity Group and serves on the joint PWV/WVNPA Public Policy & Advocacy Committee

The officers for the 2023 Board of Directors are Marian Clowes, Chair; Elizabeth Pelligrin, Vice-Chair; Treasurer, Mike Lewis; and Janell Ray, Secretary. View the full Philanthropy WV 2023 Board of Directors.