2020 Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

The West Virginia Spirit of Philanthropy Awards are the state’s premiere awards recognizing the philanthropic efforts of private individuals, collaborative projects in communities and regions, professional leaders of foundations and corporate giving programs. You may check out past honorees HERE!

Join us November 13th at 3:00 p.m. for the 2020 WV Spirit of Philanthropy Awards. In a spirit of community safety, we will be having this event virtually. Learn more about registration options HERE

2020 Winners

The 2020 Critical Impact Award goes to the Beckley Area Foundation for their COVID-19 relief efforts and other innovative projects, including PPE distribution, Back to School Poster contest, household hazardous waste collection, Mac’s Toy Fund, and more. They have awarded more than $75,000 in COVID-19 relief grants this year.

The 2020 Staff Leadership Award goes to Marian Clowes, for her work on the Parkersburg Area Community Foundation’s COVID-19 relief efforts. In fostering key partnerships, proactively reaching out to grantees to learn about their needs, and organizing a multi-phased, responsive plan, Marian went above and beyond to help the Parkersburg Area Community Foundation deliver relief to communities.

Billy Atkins is vital member of the Your Community Foundation of North Central West Virginia board, as well as as the Cheat Lake Rotary Club and Mon Valley Habitat for Humanity, and he contributes to many other local organizations through volunteering. His long term commitment and “lead by example” approach to giving have earned him the 2020 Volunteer Leadership Award.

2020 Corporate Responsibility Award winner Star Plastics stepped up this year to get much-needed PPE to non-profits and health clinics in the mid-Ohio Valley, and matched their employees donations to hunger relief dollar for dollar. They have a donor advised fund with the Parkersburg Area Community Foundation, participate in the Civic Leaders Program, contribute to the “Give Local MOV” campaign and offer a scholarship for employees and their families.

The 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Sue Sergi, for her service as the Executive Director of the Glotfelty Foundation, as well as her volunteer involvement with many arts and education organizations. Sue is a past president of FestivALL, has served on the board of the Charleston YWCA, and is active in the Charleston Creative Placemaking Council and the Kanawha Valley Council on Philanthropy.

The Award Descriptions

The Critical Impact Award celebrates local grantmaking, big and small. The awards will go to the organizations/collaborations that demonstrates creativity, innovation, and sustainability in their grant project. Nominations will be accepted for programs that demonstrate bold vision and strategic initiative by foundations, coalitions, corporate grantmakers, or government grantmaking organizations.

The Volunteer Leadership Award honors an individual exhibiting an extraordinary service and impact in philanthropy in the state of West Virginia. This individual excels in his or her role as an individual philanthropist through their personal giving, their company’s philanthropy, engaging others to give, and/or serving as a board member of a philanthropic organization.

The Staff Leadership Award honors an individual exhibiting an extraordinary commitment to philanthropy in the state of West Virginia. Nominations will be accepted for staff of grantmaking foundations and corporate giving. This staff member excels in his or her role by demonstrating exceptional commitment and leadership in the field.

The Corporate Responsibility Leader Award recognizes outstanding companies, of any size, who are actively donating, volunteering, and making a difference in local communities and the state of West Virginia.