2019 ACFI Speakers

UPDATED 04/25/2019


Rick King, President with Three Pillars Initiative

Mr. King is Chairman of Kittleman & Associates, LLC, an executive search firm devoted exclusively to the recruitment of nonprofit leaders, and creator of the Future Philanthropists Program and the Three Pillars Initiative.

Prior to purchasing Kittleman in 1985, he served as the first Executive Director of the Illinois Youth Service Bureau Association, a statewide association of 72 private and public youth agencies that provided counseling, substance abuse treatment and educational alternatives for youthful offenders. Prior to this, he served as the founding Executive Director of an independent, comprehensive community youth treatment agency affiliated with a suburban Chicago hospital.  MORE


Justin Lewis, Program Mentor with Three Pillars Initiative

Recruited to join the Future Philanthropist Program in 2012, Justin has enthusiastically been involved ever since.

Justin works as a technology and business consultant at Thomas Linden Group.  Prior to consulting, he worked for OneView Commerce, a technology startup based in Boston & London, where he focused on expanding the company’s partnerships with boutique software providers and multinational conglomerations.  Prior to his time at OneView, Justin spent 18 years at Follett – an educational services company where he worked as the face of the IT team both internally and externally.  Justin worked with the Marketing team to expand Follett’s North American footprint while working with executive leadership to evaluate organizational strategy, business process, and systems efficiencies.

Justin earned a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from the University of Missouri, and a Master of Business Administration from Dominican University.  While Justin grew up on his family’s ranch in southern Missouri, he and his family reside in Oak Park, IL.

Ralph M. Serpe, CEO & Project Lead with Building Unrestricted, LLC

Ralph Serpe founded Building Unrestriced, LLC in 2016 and serves as its CEO.  He also serves as the President & CEO of the Adams County Community Foundation in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.

In 2007, Ralph founded the Unrestricted Asset Development Peer Group, leading 15 community foundation executives through extensive peer learning and asset building discussion to uncover and put in place successful strategies to raise unrestricted assets.  The group has grown to include more than 125 community foundations from across the country. MORE…

Bryan K. Tate, President & Associate Project Lead with Building Unrestricted, LLC

Bryan Tate is President of Building Unrestricted, LLC and currently serves as Interim Executive Director of the Community Foundation of Harford County in Bel Air Maryland.

Previously, Bryan served for 14 years as Vice President at York County Community Foundation, having led both its grantmaking and fundraising departments, where he worked with donors and families to create the legacy they want for the communities they love.  Bryan also served 12 years as Chief of Staff to Congressman Todd Platts, who represented York County and South-Central Pennsylvania in the US House of Representatives.  MORE…

Kelly K. Shrock, President with The Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County

Kelly K. Shrock worked in and supported higher education for twenty years before transitioning to The Community Foundation in 2012.  She earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology and Social Work from Ball State University and a Master’s degree in Higher Education Administration from Miami University.

As President of The Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County, Kelly works with donors, nonprofit organizations, community volunteers, and civic leaders to create a legacy that will benefit our community for years to come.  MORE…


Pre-Institute and Breakout Sessions:

Suzanne S. Friday, Senior Counsel & Vice President of Legal Affairs with Council on Foundations

Suzanne S. Friday joined the Council on Foundations in 2013 and serves as Senior Legal Counsel and Vice President of Legal Affairs. Previously, Suzanne was a partner with the Harrisburg, Pennsylvania firm, Nauman Smith Shissler & Hall, LLP where she chaired the firm’s Tax, Trusts, and Estates practice group. Suzanne has extensive experience representing nonprofit organizations including community foundations, charitable trusts, private foundations, and corporate foundations. She also served as in-house counsel for The Nature Conservancy from 2000-2005.  In May of 2015, the American Bar Association (ABA) selected Suzanne Friday for its prestigious “Outstanding Nonprofit Lawyer Award” in recognition of “distinguished service by a nonprofit – in-house counsel.” MORE…


Philip (Phil) Koch, Executive Director with The Community Foundation of Westmoreland County

For the last two decades, Phil has been working to strengthen communities.  He started his career as an elementary and middle school teacher in the Chicago Public Schools and also taught in Pittsburgh Public Schools.  In 2005, Phil left the classroom and began working in the nonprofit sector as the Pittsburgh Director for MGR Youth Empowerment, a direct service nonprofit focused on youth development.  Shortly after, Phil took on the role of National Executive Director and grew MGR Youth Empowerment to five urban cities and served more than 50,000 youth.

In Phil’s current role as the Executive Director of The Community Foundation of Westmoreland County, an affiliate of The Pittsburgh Foundation, Phil works with local leaders, community philanthropists, and the nonprofit sector to tackle the most pressing issues in the county.  MORE…

Marian Clowes, Associate Director for Community Leadership with Parkersburg Area Community Foundation and Regional Affiliates

Patty Showers Ryan, President with Your Community Foundation fo North Central West Virginia

Gerry Roll, Executive Director with Foundation for Appalachian Kentucky

Skyler Fleisher, Communication Fellow with Philanthropy WV

Beth Jarrell, Volunteer Co-Director of the Beckley Area Foundation’s Susan Landis Youth Philanthropist Program

Susie Nelson, Executive Director with the Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley

Jane Powell, Communications Director with The Greater Kanawha Valley Foundation

Kathyrn Davis Lamp, JD – Vice President & General Counsel with the Foundation for the Tri-State

Tina Reilly-Dewitt, Bookkeeper with the Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley